Consistent Conviction

Today marks 30 days of consecutive writing. Every morning for the last 30 days I’ve gotten up, had a cup a coffee with my husband, then sat at the computer for an hour (sometimes a bit more) to spill out my thoughts until the kids wake up and want to get on with the day. Most days it was a delight. The days it wasn’t required the power of conviction.

I’ve quit a lot of different things over the years, and writing is the only thing that continually finds its way back to me. Our reunions are so wonderfully intense I can’t remember why I ever stopped writing in the first place. And just when I find myself feeling absolutely sure that writing is meant to be a permanent part of my life, I’m comforted by some Resistant Force who seems to wait around for moments like these to make me feel otherwise.

Today marks 30 days of consecutive wrestling with the Resistant Force. Every morning for the last 30 days I’ve gotten up, had coffee with my fears and insecurities, then sat the computer for an hour (sometimes a bit more) to spill out my thoughts until the Resistance Force retreats and lets me get on with my day. It will always be a fight. But with the power of conviction, it’s a fight I will always win.

 

************************************************************************************

To share on social media, use the handy-dandy buttons below. Thanks for reading and thanks for sharing! 🙂

If you want to read more about me, START HERE.

If you want to contact me about something, GO HERE.

Leave a Reply

